No plainstriders in Northrend, here’s why!

The evil werewolves in Grizzly Hills ate them.

I’m suffering a bit from WoW related ennui at the moment but I’m not 100 percent sure why. I have goals, lots of goals I want to achieve in game but when it actually comes to logging to do them I end up hanging around chatting to people or bouncing quietly in a corner.

  • I’m 50 quests away from Loremaster on my Priest. The end is finally in sight, I know where to look for the remaining quests and I’ve even started a couple of blog posts on the subject but……
  • My druid and shaman are both lv 72 with lots of shiny BoA accessories but despite having bought them winter flying, epic flying and dual spec, they are hanging out in the beergarden. Which other than telling me that money in WoW is far too easily earnt isn’t really helpful.
  • My baby warrior is a level away from a dirty noisy mechostrider.
  • I’m working on my 100 mount achievement. My guild got three glowing pink flying bird things from Kael in TBC, all three people have now quit or gone casual. The only time I’ve seen a hawkstrider drop in Magister’s Terrace, I was outrolled by 1… its owner is now casual. Dwelling on lost rolls leads to bitterness, especially since Kael is now denying ever having a hawkstider and refusing to drop another one.

I think part of the problem is the gated raid system with a set number of tries that Blizzard seems to feel is the way forward. Now, my server is at times anything but stable. Its one of the biggest in the EU I believe and come raid time, especially on a Wednesday/Thursday the latency spirals. We lost three tries on Anub’arak yesterday for example due to all kinds of weird lag. Spikes standing still whilst killing someone on the other side of the room being the best example. It shouldn’t be a “Tribute to Mad Skill” but a “Tribute to Server Stability”.

“The first section that opens will include the Lord Marrowgar, Lady Deathwhisper, Icecrown Gunship Battle, and Deathbringer Saurfang encounters. Progress beyond that point will be prevented for several weeks.”

The thought of having four new encounters to beat then having to wait, whilst still doing all the stuff we currently do because there isn’t enough new stuff to go around doesn’t create a feeling of excitement in my bosom. Yes, maybe I’m being extra pessimistic as we don’t know what the live versions of the normal instance will be like but ToC doesn’t inspire confidence.

One Response

  1. No, I am completely right there with you. Heck, I think I’m only like…5 or 6 mounts from my 100 mounts, 3 of which can be purchased for gold. And I’m seriously too lazy to get off my duff and farm the other ones out, and I’m almost to my frist PvP mount for Beru (maybe this weekend…yea, that’s the ticket!).

    I too am a bit aprehensive about the gated release of Ice Crown. If the bosses are challening, ok, it might work. But if they are roughly the same level of what we saw in ToC…

    As I live in Seattle, I think I’m just going to blame by recent emoness on the raid…yea, that’s it! =)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,344 other followers

