Distracted in Desolace

I wonder if I’m alone in this, but I love Desolace.

There, I’ve admitted it. It’s out in the open now and can’t be taken back. I think Desolace is beautiful.

Ignore the “desolace” and focus on the “solace”, which according to the dictionary means:

  1. Comfort in sorrow, misfortune, or distress; consolation.
  2. A source of comfort or consolation.

Then close your eyes for a moment and follow me.

Nijel's Point on a rainy day

Nijel’s Point is open, green and expansive. The Inn overlooks the rest of the town, providing a relaxing spot for tea-break.

From green spaces we move into an almost lunar landscape. Dust and dead trees form the bulk of Desolace’s heartland, but these places have their own other worldly beauty. Besides they function as a windbreak between the traditional prettiness of Nijel’s Point and the coastline. Night Elf architects really had strange taste in towers though, wonder if they were compensating for something.

The tower of Ethel Rethor seen from the ocean. Desolace’s coastline is fertile looking country, trees are abundant here and green.

The giant mushrooms of Shadowbreak Ravine

According to WoWhead, this zone was originally intended for the then lv40, now lv 20 warlock mount quest which was never implemented. The demon horses and their current owners still wait hidden away in this deserted corner. Given that there are captured stallions sharing stable room with demonic horses, I wonder if the paladin charger of the same level was intended to be obtained here too. Perhaps warlocks would have got a quest to steal a felsteed and paladins would have received one to rescue a stallion.

Then there is Shadowprey  Village, one of my favourite Horde towns. Sea front, a good long dock for fishing on, quiet location… what more could a troll ask for?

I’m actually a bit worried that come Cataclysm, Desolace will lose some of it’s charm. At the moment, it’s dusty dead centre littered with bleached bones provides contrast to the greener grassier parts. If the centre looks just like rest of the zone,  it might just be another Feralas.

Finally, Desolace has one of the more dubious and disturbing quest rewards on offer.

Instead of letting you keep someone else’s body part, clothing or other personal possessions you may have collected whilst killing them, this quest giver is offering you their own finger.

4 Responses

  1. I would agree with you, Desolace is unique and beautiful in its own way. The quest series between the warring factions of Centaur is the main reason I stay away from Desolace when leveling now. It broke my heart to have to choose a faction, knowing that I could have easily gone the other way. It was all rather depressing and a bit too much of a mirror on the real world to me. I can hardly look at a Centaur without thinking about it now.

  2. I have to confess I’ve never levelled in Desolace at all – the grey weather and the grey atmosphere and the strangely phallic buildings put me off. I should really give it a second chance it seems…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,355 other followers

