The curious case of the missing tick

I was playing around with WoWhead’s Cataclysmic data and I noticed something horrible. Renew on the beta only lasts 12 seconds down from the 15 it is on live.

A quick check of rejuvenation indicated the same thing, the level 85 rank has a 12 second duration.

If this goes live, it seems as if Blizzard are intent on stamping out pre-hotting one way or another.

Also

Healthstones are good and good players use them. If bad players continue to ignore Lightwell, we can live with that. If it becomes as useful as a Healthstone, perfect.

Also note that ignoring a Healthstone (or Lightwell) will be essentially like casting a mana drain on your healer, which is not the case today.

If Lightwell worked the same way as a Healthstone I would use them all the time. If the Lightwell went down before the fight began and people could collect a little beam of light to use whenever they needed, every Holy Priest would take Lightwell. However since that is not the case, two are not comparable.

I’m also a little worried about the¬†implications of that statement. Holy Priests are the only healing spec burdened with a Lightwell so are we going to be the only ones suffering from these “mana drains” because our regen model is designed around people using it (even though it’s an optional talent which the majority of people hate)? Or are raids expected to bring a Lightwell and Healthstones as well as Health pots and bandages? Either way I have mixed feelings about Cataclysm and healing already.

7 Responses

  1. Stupid lightwell. Also, hots need to be LONGER not shorter. SUPER-FAIL. At least haste won’t make your hots shorter, it will just make more ticks. I can’t imagine how lame a 9-second rejuv/renew would be.

    • Agree. It was hots which made me enjoy healing on the druid because it gave a playstyle different to the other four healing specs (holy priest/resto druid are my two favourite healers) but it seems as Blizzard are determined to take that away come Cataclysm.

      I’m really hoping that the recent MMO Champion post is just a load of datamined rubbish, otherwise they are breaking my regrowth :(

  2. http://www.mmo-champion.com/content/

    Just reading the blue responses on these lately makes me shudder…

    • Yep, I’m trying really hard to get upset yet because it’s beta and who knows what will happen when it ships, but I feel as if we are speaking a completely different language to the one spoken by the developers.

  3. I don’t even play a healer (outside of 5 mans just for the lolz) and I get worried about the healing in Cataclysm. I’m not quite sure where they’re taking it. Admittedly WotLK healing was possibly too easy with healers never running out of mana, but surely that’s not on every fight and rather because we ended up outgearing a lot of it?

    I could be wrong, but I still hear my healers crying for mana during some difficult fights with a lot of healing needed. It may not be often, but it does happen.

    Hopefully they’ll test it all thoroughly, because we don’t want the other end of the scope either where healers are oom all the time.

    • I have a vague feeling that at the start you could run out of mana but yes, in later tiers things got a bit over the top. Double Solace was amazing but then they should have never stacked in the first place.

      I’m sure they will test it, I just hope they don’t include lightwell into their testing data too much.

  4. Healing in PvP even nowadays you quickly go oom, PvP healing in the expansion is going to be a disaster. You will be oom extremely quickly, spells cost more than ever and people will be doing considerably more damage, and if anything have more ways to counter/silence/CC you. Healing + PvP in the expansion = yuk. I hope they will keep in mind the PvP side of things, rather than Ghostcrawler making sure his 5 man badge farming is interesting, which is about as far in the game I believe he has ever got.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,262 other followers

