Transmogrification Tuesday – Running away with the Faire

I remember the day I fell in love with Ray Bradbury as if it were yesterday. I was eight years old, sitting in my old school gym wishing the minute hand on the clock would move just that little bit faster. The last day before the holidays was always a bit of free for all, no classes were taught and we just sat around watching movies. Until that particularly moment, I always thought it was a waste of time. If they weren’t going to teach us anything, why couldn’t we have an extra day off. I have a vague memory of the first film we watched being about a child who drowned in well (cheerful material for a bunch of 8 to 10 years) but I don’t know it’s name or anything else about it. The second, however, well that was “Something Wicked This Way Comes”, the adaptation of Bradbury’s book of the same name.

By the time the credits rolled, I was hooked and ever so slightly terrified. The next day was the start of our Easter Holidays and my family went to Goslar in the Harz mountains for a week. We were staying in this beautiful little guest house but there was one snag, a massive crack ran across the ceiling in my bedroom. I’m not sure I slept all week for fear that an army of spiders would come marching out of said crack and eat me alive. My parents had to keep bribing me with icecream, a wooden carved witch (which I still have) and books without spiders, as they dragged me through museums, art galleries and historic buildings.

So when the Darkmoon Faire got it’s revamp, I was nervously excited. All those childhood memories came flooding back and I could still see that ceiling crack, vivid black against the peeling white paint. I knew I wanted a Darkmoon Balloon as a mini-pet to serve as a constant reminder of my childhood fears and my love of Bradbury.

Then to go with my balloon, I decided to create a matching outfit.

I’m not 100 percent happy with the helm but I wanted something that wouldn’t hide her green hair.

Not using any yellow was a deliberate choice, although I did consider using the Watcher’s Cap (green witchy hat with a yellow band) as a way of adding a subtle yellow streak. In the end though, I think sticking with just purple and green works better.

Looking back, I find it telling that a film which I think involved ghosts and a dead girl in a well had no effect on me whatsoever whilst Something Wicked This Way Comes haunted my dreams for many a night. Since then, I’ve read everything of Bradbury’s I’ve ever managed to lay my hands on.

5 Responses

  1. She looks like the Queen of the Darkmoon Faire!

    • It’s a shame she’s not. I’d revamp all the dailies to make them more exciting and add a creepy carousel.

  2. Oh, that’s cute! I’ll be buying my first pet today :)

  3. [...] Transmogrification Tuesday – Running away with the Faire [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,329 other followers

