Transmogrification Picks – Wands

With wands moving to the main-hand slot in Mists, there is no time like the present to start collecting the best looking ones.

I have to admit I’m excited about this change because so many of the wands have amazing graphics and are far better than the one-handed maces/daggers/swords we cloth wearing casters have access to at the moment. These are a few of my personal favourites.

Crescent Wand

Just thing to complement a Priestess of Elune look (outfit details can be found here).

Writhing Wand

For your tentacle fix. Would team up rather well with the Priest talent Void Tendrils. (The outfit is my Gnome’s gardening gear).

Zulian Voodoo Stick/Harrison’s Climbing Hook/Carved Witch Doctor’s Stick.

The first two share the same colour scheme as shown in the picture above. The latter has creamy/yellow feathers instead of blue. The blue version could be teamed with Fetish of the Primal Gods and the Witch Doctor’s Stick would go nicely with the Voodoo Shaker.

Rod of Imprisoned Souls

This is Alliance only but I love it’s Egyptian theme. It reminds me of a carving or painting of the Goddess Maat I saw somewhere and since she was responsible for the weighing of souls, that seems appropriate.

Torchlight Wand

As this is an Olympic year, including this seemed natural.

Scepter of Lost Souls/Nurturing Touch/Quartz Crystal Wand

There are colour differences between the three as per usual. The purple version is my favourite and is the Scepter of Lost Souls.

Wand of Sseratus

More creepy skull shaped shenanigans.

Whelping-Skull Zapper

This comes in green as shown above or red (Impsy’s Wand).

Torch of Austen

Could be teamed with Grayson’s Torch for some dual wielding flame stick action.

Arcane Wand of Sylvanaar

Best teamed with the identical off-hand because two wands are better than one. It comes in a variety of colours including orange, yellow and purple. A complete list can be found here.

Nightmare Ender

Another creepy wand. I’m attracted to the spikes.

Finger of Zon’ozz

Comes in three flavours, blue, green and orange. Who doesn’t want to be wielding the bottom half of a dead fish?

Touch of Discord

For giving your opponents an extra finger. Should be required PvP gear.

Wand of the Forgotten Star

You can’t go wrong with pink!

Touch of Horror/Gwyneth’s Runed Dragonwand/Nesingwary Brush Burner/

These have to be my altogether favourite models in-game. I love the colours, the spikes and the fact that it’s a fire breathing dragon.

Whilst right now, I think my wand of choice will be an angry dragon, I can’t wait to see what new models the Mists of Pandaria will bring us.

8 Responses

  1. I’m happy to say I have quite a few of these but I didn’t have mogit when 4.3 came out so didn’t choose the cresent wand based on stats. It still annoys me today that I didn’t preview the wand before my choice :/

    • I know, I hate looking back at all the fabulous gear I ditched before transmogrification was introduced. I wish Blizzard had given us a few years warning that it was on the cards.

  2. Oh no! I had the Nesingwary Brush Burner but never thought to actually look at it and just vendored it. Geez, I wish you could pay a fee and get something back that you deleted!

    • If I didn’t need an item, I just used to take the most expensive thing to sell. Makes me very sad indeed looking back at all the stuff, I didn’t take.

  3. Making Wands MH is a great improvement to the game and there’s definitely some awesome ones out there (especially for RP folk!)

    • I miss the extra stats from having both a main hand and a wand but I’m sure by the time lv 90 rolls around, we’ll all have adapted.

      • Well, everyone is losing a slot if I recall. No more relics, Hunters are now ranged weapon only, and Warriors/Rogues lose their ranged slot. As you said, people will no doubt adapt.

  4. @Jd Kenada
    I know, it’s just because of the changes to intellect (no longer increasing mana pool size/giving regen other than through mechanics like shadowfiend), the lost of the wand seemed really noticeable at first.

    That plus the fact that the game keeps telling me that “you must have a wand equipped to do that” reminds me of the loss.

    I am however equally saddened about hunters and melee weapons as my only surviving Worgen is a hunter and so I won’t be able to use my favourite staff come MoP :(

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,262 other followers

