BETA: On Fairytales and Folklore

One of my favourite aspects of WoW is the merging of fairy stories and folk lore from our world into Azeroth. My Warlocks all make a point of visiting this slightly suspect character

whenever they are in Kalimdor because her namesake was such a staple of my childhood. My Grandmother and Great Grandmother used stories to explain everything, no question ever phased them and they had a tale for everything. Don’t stray from the path because there are big bad wolves lurking amongst the trees whose only wish is to eat you up. Always be polite because you never know who you are talking to and of course, always do what Grandmama says.

In Northrend we have the Frog Princess and the Darkmoon Faire gives us Rona Greenteeth, that charming lady who sells rather dubious edible goods, the WoW version of this delightful creature. Wherever we look there are the images, the monsters and the heros from our childhoods transformed yet again.

So when I first zoned into the Temple of the Jade Serpent, I really wasn’t sure what to expect. The first boss was interesting enough but it was only as we cleared towards the second I started to get excited. The trash mobs seemed familiar, not their models but their names.

I knew somewhere I’d seen or heard of them before but the answer lay just out  of reach, dancing away from me. It was only after we had finished that I realised why they seemed familiar. I had seen them before, not of course as WoW characters but as illustrations in a book.

Which made perfect sense, the library had come to life, animated by Sha magic. From each scroll had come the trash mobs, sliding from the pages into flesh and blood for us to slaughter.

The Nodding Tiger, the Talking Fish, the Golden Beetle and the Two Jugglers, all there, a child’s dream or nightmare come true.

If you aren’t planning on doing anything to prepare for Mists, do one thing for me. Go and research the stories behind these characters. Get to know them before you put them back where they belong, back on the shelves. As a starting point check out this and don’t forget to look at the illustrations because who knows, they might escape. After all, anything is possible.

7 Responses

  1. I love references like this. Also thx for the link to the Wonder book, I’d never seen that before.

    Your post makes me think of my Red Riding Hood post that I did for Saz’s screenshot challenge and my Fairy Tale page :)

    • I spend far too much time going through all the stuff on the Project Gutenberg website, I love old books and there are some amazing gems hidden away, like the Wonder Book.

      I was thinking about your Red Riding Hood and then the Worgen start zone as I was writing it actually :)

  2. I’d never heard of Jenny Greenteeth so thank you! I always wondered if Rona Greenteeth was a reference to someone, and the book is wonderful!

    • I found a couple of the old fairy tale books I had as a child earlier, that website is too addictive :D

  3. Thanks so much for linking the mobs in Jade Temple to actual stories! I had wondered if they had backgrounds, or if they were just some random names created by Blizzard.

  4. [...] nothing negative to say about either of them. I loved the idea of Temple of the Jade Serpent with it’s library of possessed scrolls from the beta but having now run through the Brewery, I’m not sure I could pick a [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,168 other followers

