Falling in love all over again.

First impressions are so important. We make snap judgements all the time based on nothing more than the experiences of a few minutes, sometimes even less. If I’m being a hundred percent honest, I have to admit that my initial reaction to MoP was a bit less than positive. After twenty minutes or so of this:

I was starting to get a little grumpy, especially since Mr Harpy was stuck in limbo somewhere and couldn’t even log on. However the more I played, the more I got drawn in. Not only is the landscape stunningly beautiful but in many regards, MoP ticks all my mental boxes. The quest chains range from the fun to the serious as do the rewards. Both Theramore and Southshore get mentioned by the NPCs in the first ten minutes and there is a real sense of a world at war (at least from the Alliance perspective). The Sha, the bad guys of the piece are introduced in act one and have their nasty nature spelt out for us just to make sure there will be no misunderstandings later. The little details are important and I feel that Blizzard have nailed most of them spot on, from the voice acting for a lot of the quests which really helps bring them to life to the little scenes being played out by the NPCs.

I also think I’m in love with Sky Admiral Rogers, not only is she clearly a ganker at heart but the moment when she told Admiral Taylor to “put his big boy pants on” was jaw-droppingly perfect. A few more like her and the Horde won’t stand a chance.

So far I’ve only run the first two dungeons but again, I have nothing negative to say about either of them. I loved the idea of Temple of the Jade Serpent with it’s library of possessed scrolls from the beta but having now run through the Brewery, I’m not sure I could pick a favourite.

Stories coming to life versus the adorable Vermling, it’s a hard one to call.

In short, I’m basically back to vanilla. The little wide eyed girl in a candy shop trying to do everything at once because there is so much to see, to listen to and to play with. In the Cataclysm drought I found myself questioning why I was playing WoW and whether I wanted to continue but now two days into MoP, I’m rather glad I chose to continue.

9 Responses

  1. I think so far that is VERY MUCH the consensus of those who bought the expansion, and definitely glad to hear that. As I said for quite some time, Cataclysm was a huge step back for the franchise and they needed to knock one out of the park with Mists. So far? Well, the ball has certainly come hard off the bat…

    • Yep, compared to Cataclysm it’s such a massive leap forward. I’m really impressed, didn’t think that after so long I’d end up squealing fangirlishly.

      • I think the ONLY thing left before people cast official judgement is the Raid scene. I know the discussion is there for dropping 25-man down to 15, but just raiding in general.

        We now return you to your regularly scheduled “squee” ;)

  2. So far it’s really been more than I was hoping for, my problem is trying to decide what to do and where to go next!

  3. That line where the Admiral is told to put on his big boy pants was pure Win. I did a double-take when I heard that!

    • She’s completely perfect in oh so many ways and I really hope that a) we see more of her as the story progresses and b) she doesn’t get watered down and end up in Taylor’s arms.

  4. You hit the nail on the head. With the exception that Mrs Shoryl hasn’t had any login troubles; and that I was so keyed up from what I’ve heard about Theramore (not to mention the Sky Admiral is from Southshore) so I was happy to take the Horde down a notch.

    The pretty has me completely captivated. But… I will be posting my own views soon. :)

    • Once we left it a bit, the log in issues went away, was just over the launch time. Still annoying but perhaps to be expected.

      I’m really looking forward to the weekend so I can explore more.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,164 other followers

