The three reasons why I love the Tillers

I admit to being a little dubious when Blizzard first raised the idea of farms in WoW, but a month into the expansion I find myself exalted with the Tillers and more importantly glad I farmed their rep. Quite often the best pleasures in life are simple ones and in many ways you can’t get simpler than planting vegetables and tilling the land, which in a roundabout way brings me to my all time favourite Tiller items.

Gin-Ji Knife Set

This wonderful set makes your character don a chefs hat and start chopping as if you’re in the final minutes of a closely fought Iron Chef battle. You swiftly reduce your kill to a pile of blood red guts such is your enthusiasm. There is a 20 minute cooldown because we can’t have it all, but given that you can use this little beauty on the fallen corpses of your enemies it’s well worth every penny not to mention the bag space it consumes. It’s not usable on anyone who releases fast but those who hang around hoping their mates will kill you… well they could be in for a surprise. A word of warning though, anyone who has been through the “mincer” is likely to spend the rest of the battleground stuck to you like glue (or hiding in a corner shaking).

Goats

I’ve always been fond of goats, in fact I think gnomes and goats have a lot in common as demonstrated in the picture below (the arm belongs to Mr Harpy).

Now I finally have a mount which correctly reflects the state of my bags.

I.e. weighed down with everything apart from the kitchen sink.

Scarecrow

The cocky crow is a wonderful touch, it’s just a shame the scarecrow doesn’t come to life, asking about getting a brain or even better given the time of year set out to get it’s own braiiiiinsss by chasing passers-by because everyone secretly knows that scarecrows or tattiebogles as they call them around here are actually very creepy.

So what are you waiting for, if you’re not exalted go go go and if you are exalted and you haven’t bought your julienne set… shame on you!

7 Responses

  1. For someone who never had an interest in Farmville I certainly love my farm in Halfhill. I never thought I’d be endlessly circling crops either in the hope of spotting some dirt. I must have my goat!

    • It turned out to be my first exalted rep, something I really didn’t expect. Thought I’d be after my dragon but in the end Goats won out :D

  2. I’m also enjoying the Tiller rep grind, currently honored and while I am just now receiving some of the novelty items I do like how I can plant some of the materials needed for cooking when I start leveling the skill later (I see A LOT of carrots in my mage’s future)

    • Just emptied out my bags, I was drowning in a sea of vegetables. It’s a shame they don’t go in the currency tab.

  3. I just managed to get exalted with them yesterday. I tried the first and third perks on the beta but haven’t forked out any Gold on live. I did buy the goats though.

    • I’ve even got the flower thingie that blooms when you die. Given the current state of PvP, it works out fairly well and looks quite good teamed with the Valkyr glyph. No wonder I have no bag space :p

  4. I’m a few days off exalted so i’m looking forward to some cool things like goats. Bagspace is at a premium for me at the moment so I don’t think I will be getting a scarecrow or the cool knives. I do like the dress up stuff though :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,344 other followers

