The Wanderer’s Festival – IntPiPoMo

We are the music-makers,
And we are the dreamers of dreams,
Wandering by lone sea-breakers,
And sitting by desolate streams.
World-losers and world-forsakers,
Upon whom the pale moon gleams;
Yet we are the movers and shakers,
Of the world forever, it seems.

Arthur William Edgar O’Shaughnessy

With so many of the WoW festivals revolving around killing and death, the Wanderer’s festival is a real breathe of fresh air. There is no big bad to slaughter, no towns to save, just a leisurely┬áSunday┬ábeach party focusing on celebrating exploration and dreams coming true.

The party starts with the celebrants emerging from the jungle, some carrying lanterns which they take to the water’s edge.

Once released these glowing beacons float out to sea, drifting out to explore.

I find myself returning week after week just so I can sit on the beach watching the world go by.

I love the idea of a regular festival and/or event that happens all year around and really hope it’s something that Blizzard develop further at some point. So far we have the Wanderer’s Festival with it’s hatchling and of course the Darkmoon Faire but perhaps the market at Halfhill could expand into a proper market on a Saturday with twice as many stalls, some selling unique items and recipes. Maybe those enterprising Goblins in Booty Bay could set up a Fish market to help fund the rebuilding project or the Vrykul could host a little gathering once a fortnight to help draw people back to Northrend, obviously we’d have to dress up to avoid being on the receiving end of a pointy spear but the opportunities could be endless.

9 Responses

  1. As so frequently happens I so wish Blizzard would employ you, you have the very best ideas! I’d love to be disguised in Northrend mingling with a crowd of Vrykul.

    • I bet the Vrykul have awesome parties, lots of drinking, fighting and breaking things. Perhaps you’d have to do a little quest chain first which would reward you with an orb of deception type thingie. You could use it for the celebrations but also anywhere in the world to disguise yourself with a longer cool down.

  2. Wow, I’ve never seen that poem before (or realised the origin of the phrase ‘movers and shakers’). I went and looked up the rest – isn’t the imagery wonderful? Thank you much :)

    • I fell in love with the poem at school, I think in my typical pretentious teenage way I felt that it spoke to me. It was also a great excuse for not having bothered doing anything as mundane as my maths homework.

  3. I didn’t even know about this, guess I know what I’m doing this Sunday,

  4. Brilliant ideas = ) haha… great blogg btw.. = ) have a good day. =)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,268 other followers

