Dark Dreaming of the Moon

The Darkmoon Faire has rolled into town once again, bringing with it a whole host of new and shiny things to tempt the eye.

Up first we have the Carousel with it’s experience and reputation buff (sorely needed in the Age of Dailies). All you have to do is buy a ticket and ride it for a while, just like the Maypole buff from the Fire Festival the duration ticks up the longer you spend spinning around. Unfortunately or perhaps fortunately riding it backwards doesn’t seem to effect your age unlike Bradbury’s.

WoWScrnShot_120212_012440

What I also like about this is that Blizzard seem to have drawn heavily on the design which featured in their Student Design Contest, even down to the watching eye on top.

contest02-lrg

Borrowed from MMO Champion

Sadly the balloons haven’t made it into the finished product though, perhaps if we’re really lucky they’ll turn up as mini pets some time in the future.

WoWScrnShot_120212_020219

As seen from a distance

The new Pet Battle Master was an okay fight, easier than a certain gentleman in the Argent Tournament grounds for example. I took his team on with a Beast (Spider), a Flying creature (my Cenarion Hatchling) and a Humanoid (my Hopling). My reward bag yielded no Eye but then this week I have been fairly lucky with other pet drops (the Vanilla raid ones and the tailoring ones) so fingers crossed I’ll get one this week as it’s the pet I’m most excited about.

Buoyed up by this success, I went and purchased my Darkmoon Hatchling, which when inspected closely has a very prehistoric look. Sprout will definitely be careful when feeding, I suspect it’s pet biscuits thrown from quite some distance.

WoWScrnShot_120212_013953

Finally I hit the wilderness looking for the two tamable pets. Finding a Darkmoon Glowfly was easy, the woods seemed filled with them, albeit with a massive level range.

WoWScrnShot_120212_013413

The first one I tamed was level 11 and the first one Mr Harpy accosted was level 1. Sadly it seems that the other pet I actually want, the Crow still hasn’t been fixed. Here’s hoping Blizzard get it done before the end of the week.

All in all, the new additions to the Darkmoon Faire get a massive thumbs up from me and no doubt I’ll be spending even more time here than before.

9 Responses

  1. And just when I thought I’d talked myself out of having to OCD go through the Faire with all my alts this coming month… :P

    What about the fancy new hats? Are they in the game yet, and if so, what do they cost?

    • Couldn’t find the hats* but you can buy sandbox tiger versions of the carousel rides for 1 token for ten uses. I may have a stack of murlocs sitting in my bags for future uses.

      This doesn’t mean that they aren’t in game though because quite often I can’t find things which are right in front of me.

  2. I need to go back, I totally missed the carousel, I spent all my time trying to find a Crow with no luck.

  3. I had hoped that the pet battler would reduce his pet’s levels to match that of the player but sadly not! My highest pets at the moment are only 11 since I’ve been skipping on pet battles until I run out of other things on my list of things I ‘have’ to do.

    • Yep, it would have been awesome if he didn’t require level 25 pets to beat. I must admit I wasn’t expecting him to be max level.

  4. I had completely forgotten about the additions to the Faire! Definitely have to go back now for some of that yummy xp/rep boost!

  5. Wow, had no idea the Glowfly ranged in level. I snagged a level 5 and just took for granted that was their level.

  6. Ooh that Tamer is still beating me, I’ve got very close (monkey down to 300 or less health). Screech (my Cogblade Raptor) isn’t quite 25 yet, I suppose that would help.

    I snagged a green crow, still looking for a rare but they’re hard to find as it is.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,329 other followers

