Made to be Broken

As it turned out, Christmas and the New Year to this point have been a bit of a wash out, literally as well as figuratively. At some point during the festive period Mr Harpy and I were infected with a rather nasty virus which left us drained of energy, bouncing between hot sweats and cold ones with absolutely no appetite to speak of. Now luckily since we both return to work tomorrow we seem to be on the way to recovery. I still creak like an old sail ship in a gale when I breathe and my chest feels like I’m wearing a corset three sizes too small but given the deluded state I spent the weekend in, it’s a definite improvement. This bout of sickness has however meant that all the things I hoped to get done this week have fallen by the way side, blogging included.

Now being a list lover, what better way to start the new year than with a list!

I won’t bore you all with all my resolutions, mainly because half of them won’t last the week but here are those which vaguely relate to either WoW or to this blog.

  • Make time to write, blog posts, journal entries, stories. Sometimes it’s healthier for your sanity to get those voices out of your mind and anchored down safely onto paper. This is especially true when your family tree is loaded with slightly crazy fruit (My Mother’s family excel at alcoholism, madness and that dry sarcastic humour which whilst very funny when aimed at others, can make grown women cry.. and in the case of my Mother’s sisters in law frequently does).
  • Learn to knit. Not particularly WoW related other than the secret desire to knit Mother Shahraz. This might be case of  running before I can walk given that the only thing I’ve ever knitted was a jumper for Barbie when I was eight but might as well aim high.
  • Play WoW. Now this might seem like a strange resolution but these days I’m barely logging an hour a week and there are still lots of things in-game I want to do and write about.
  • Spend some time playing around with my strange little blog which was started with such good intentions and then ignored.
  • Comment more on other people’s blogs. I flick through my reader thinking “Oh, I’ll go back and comment on X” and then I get sidetracked and forget all about it. Finally getting my reader set up on my phone should help, that way I can do it whilst commuting to work or in my breaks.
  • As for this blog, having to decided not to mothball it, I’m going to aim for at least two posts a week. One might end up being screenshots every now and then but I’ve come this far so why give up now.

2012 was a strange year for me, a year of spending far too much time in the car driving between cities, of job interviews after job interviews and that strange feeling of being up in the air and not knowing when or where you’re going to come down. Hopefully 2013 will bring stability, a new house and sense of purpose and confidence.

8 Responses

  1. I feel like change is in the air — good change, productive, and clear. Please keep writing; I think the same thing quite often. Very sorry you and your hubby were ill over the holidays – people wonder why I can’t wait to take down “Christmas” – but to me, it’s like the real beginning of light and hope. Cheers to you and yours, and here’s to a wonderful 2013!

    • Hope so, I could do with some productive and clear air right now. Although with a start like this, 2013 can’t be anything other than fabulous :p

  2. So sorry you two were sick over your holidays, you need your health when you have to stand up to crazy relatives, lol!

    The best crazy relative story (although I’m not related) was my son-in-law’s mother thinking Asti Spumante was sparkling cider and serving it to all the children at her Christmas dinner. Luckily none of them were old enough to drive!

    Hopefully 2013 will be full of stories!

    • Next year, we’re running away and hiding somewhere up a mountain where infected relatives can’t find us.

  3. Aww, I’m sorry you were sick over the holidays, but am glad you are starting to feel better.

    Hopefully everything works out in 2013 and I look forward to reading your posts :)

  4. Sorry that being sick was wasted on a perfectly good holiday :( Happy new year to you both.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,268 other followers

