Favoritism

This week, Matty from Sugar and Blood provided the Blog Azeroth Shared Topic:

A few weeks ago, I noticed logging onto some characters seemed to be more irksome than others, it dawned on me that there were a few who never, ever seemed to be a chore to play. My question is, (and yes, you need to have more than one character over level 1) which of your characters do you always look forward to “seeing?” But the real question is why? Perhaps think of this from a role playing perspective, that this character has a personality, play style and demeanor that inevitably just works. I’d love to meet them!

WoWScrnShot_010513_213755

This wasn’t even a question I needed to think about, I knew the answer would be Sprout. I wasn’t particularly keen on Gnomes when I first started playing WoW and certainly could never see myself playing one. I wanted to play a character more like myself in Real Life than a pint sized giggling psychopath (although come to think it, remove the height restriction and ……. ). I found the males creepy and the females too doll-like but then Blizzard dropped a bombshell. When they announced Gnome Priests I knew I was going to have to dabble on the Gnomeside and somehow I fell in love.

The voiced animations are awesome, yelling /flee in a crowded bunker works so much better on a Gnome than it does on any other race, as does the /chicken emote. Sprout is happy all of the time and by extension, she makes me happy when I play her. She’s giggly and smiley and is guaranteed to find fun side in anything, even four hour statemate Alterac Valley games against the German realms. Plus, the fact that most people admit to hate being killed by Gnomes adds a certain sweetness to the pie.

Obviously her being a Priest, the class I’m most comfortable on helps a great deal. I know her abilities and her keybinds like the back of my hand. Throw me into a pitched pvp battle and I’d far rather be on Sprout than say my new Monk or a melee of any kind but she brings something to the table that my other Priests lack.

In short, she’s the me I’d like to be. Happy to be alive, carefree and not in the slightest bothered by authority. Sprout doesn’t suffer from depression or obsess about her work, Sprout isn’t a perfectionist, she doesn’t care whether she kills stylishly as long as they’re dead. She bounces through life protected by her shields and an army of mini pets.

8 Responses

  1. That’s funny I noticed my mood brightens when I play my Goblins, it’s kind of impossible to be down and be a Goblin. What is it with these little people. Just made a Gnome Monk, she sends a wave to Sprout!

  2. I love this Erinys – I feel like I really got to meet Sprout – she’s someone I would be proud to consider a dear friend! From what I know of her, she’s fiesty, funny, and loyal – and you may be more like her than you may think!

    • Thank you! The worrying thing is when I giggle, Sprout and I could definitely be sisters under the skin. We sound almost identical.

  3. I love your description of how you see your character and how she makes you feel.

    It’s funny, I chose a BE for the way they looked and I think their body shape is the one most like mine (less the pointy ears).

    • That was partly the reasoning between my original choice of Nightelf as I’ve been described as “Amazonian” more than once. I’m tall with broad shoulders and long legs (like you my ears aren’t particularly pointy though). Add in the long hair and a fascination with Moon Goddesses and Night Elf Priest was pretty much a given :p

      Whilst I love Erinys, Sprout definitely allows a freedom of expression I never felt comfortable with when playing a sort of extension of myself. Sprout can heckle with abandon in battlegrounds and dungeons, Erinys was always reserved. Sprout can sing her happiness from the roof tops if she feels like it, Erinys prefers to smile in private.

      Weird how much we can change based on the pixels we present.

  4. I think Sprout is the one of the few gnomes I like :P

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,262 other followers

