Haunted Azeroth: Tol Barad

I love watching horror movies from behind sofas and then having nightmares for weeks afterwards. In fact as a child, I often had to sleep with the lights on because the strangest things could pray on my imagination, Sweeney Todd (possibly understandable), a butterfly getting stuck in someone’s ear, a shadow flickering against a wall or a story read under bright lights, casting shadows long into the night. Even playing WoW with headphones on, I’ve found myself jumping in certain areas so I thought I’d start to share with you some of the places which leave me with a distinct sense of unease.

Tol Barad

No wonder the inhabitants of this prison are hostile.

WoWScrnShot_030913_155920

WoWScrnShot_030913_155904

WoWScrnShot_092112_193910

Cooped up in the dark and the damp, I suspect I wouldn’t be in the best frame of mind either.

On a slightly different topic, Matty raised an interesting question the other day. I’ve never had a character I actively disliked before, even my slightly strange damaged ones have had a side which redeemed them (at least in my eyes). However this left me wondering, could I make a character whose choices in life I found repugnant? The obvious choice to experiment with would be a Death Knight but given my track record …… that’s probably a definite no.

2 Responses

  1. I like the first one, looks really creepy. I remember the goldshire kids and the scary background music.

  2. Yep, that was really disturbing. Although to be fair, the children’s models in WoW are pretty creepy by themselves, especially that blonde haired girl.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,355 other followers

