A spoonful of sugar: The Jade Witch

The shared topic this week over at Blog Azeroth is:

to consider the nicest, cutest, sappiest, and sweetest quests in the game; nothing sad or depressing, but sweet and light.

suggested by Matty.

Now I’m not particularly good at sappy, cute and sweet, so I decided to pick a quest chain which I happen to adore but has overtones of sadness intermingled with the sweet gingerbreadiness.

This little quest chain has all the hallmarks of a fairytale. When you start out, it’s almost as a disbeliever, accompanying the child because it’s the polite thing to do but …. a witch… in these woods.

WoWScrnShot_080413_213636

As you wind your way deeper into the forest towards her cottage, the atmosphere darkens. Less light manages to fight it’s way through the canopy above, the air takes on a jade hue and suddenly you start to think that perhaps there could be a witch in the woods.

The Double Hozen Dare.

There is a witch in the woods but no one believes me. She turned my friend Shin into jade!

We were all so scared we tried to run back but she sicced her big jade monsters on us. A bunch of my friends tried to get away by climbing trees.

WoWScrnShot_092612_200610

Even I have to admit there are few things cuter than a Panda cub climbing a giant bamboo shoot to escape being turned into jade. ┬áThen once you’ve rescued An Windfur’s fellow cubs, she tasks you with saving her best friend from the Witch.

WoWScrnShot_080413_213523

This for me at least is where the tinge of sadness enters the frame. The witch is always a witch, not a wife, not a widow, not a woman who lives alone and keeps jade cats but a witch, especially in the eyes of the children.

WoWScrnShot_072813_192658

Then there are her reasons for keeping her sculpture garden.

Have you come to pay your respects at the shrine of my husband? He was a hero you know. A master of Jade crafting and fighting. He was to be remembered forever they said.

Do you like my statues? I craft them with special care saving only the best to provide my husband company and protection.

She’s not evil (at least by Azerothian standards), she just wants company and to honour the memory of her dead (or possibly turned to jade in an act of sacrifice) husband.

The other reason I love this quest chain is because it reminds me of one of my favourite stories from my childhood, that of “The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe“. I find myself wondering if it’s any coincidence that the Jade Witch of Warcraft can turn people into jade and Jadis, otherwise known as the White Witch can turn people into stone.

Like all fairy tales involving witches, you’re left with a slight feeling of sickness, as if you ate an entire gingerbread house by yourself. I haven’t failed completely though, there are plenty of cute, light and sweet moments in these quests. I particularly like rescuing the cubs and of course getting my very own jade raccoon at the end.

7 Responses

  1. This was one of my favorites In the Jade Forest, I still can’t come up with any ideas, everything I remember is usually remembered because it was so creepy like the Horde quest to dig up people buried with just their heads above ground.

    • If I’m being honest, I just wanted to write about this quest chain and was looking for a way of shoe horning it into the conversation :p

  2. Ah, Erinys, I like a little sour with the sweet too – this is one of my favorites too! This is grand, thank you so much!

    • I think you need both and besides my Monk is called Dulcamara….. she’s bittersweet and so am I.

  3. I just did the Alliance version where they encounter her while looking for Anduin. It is definitely a bitter-sweet tale. She just wants her husband to have some company, to have the children they always wanted but never got the chance to have. That in itself is very sweet, even if she’s totally wrong about the way she goes about it!

    • I feel bad when I kill her, I wish there was another way of dealing with it. I wish we knew more about what exactly happened to her husband too, so many unanswered questions :(

  4. […] is something about living flesh being turned into unfeeling stone which leaves chills down my spine. That coupled with the fact that I love the darkness behind fairy […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,371 other followers

