Favourite Playable Race: “Elves are wonderful”

I love other people’s writing prompts because they push the conscious mind into considering things taken for granted. They make you examine why you followed a certain path, why you chose the red velvet cupcake or why only pink socks will do on Thursday and in doing so, often you find something hidden.

Thanks to Rinike, I rediscovered Neri’s writings and found myself debating over her open thread post:

What is your favourite playable race in a video game?

There were several contenders but in the end it came down to one clear winner.

Elves are wonderful. They provoke wonder.
Elves are marvellous. They cause marvels.
Elves are fantastic. They create fantasies.
Elves are glamourous. They project glamour.
Elves are enchanting. They weave enchantment.
Elves are terrific. They beget terror.

Terry Pratchett – Lords and Ladies

Perhaps it’s the fact that Elves usually have links to nature or the fact that spell casting tends to be their bread and butter but I’m drawn to them in games.

WoWScrnShot_011114_232638

In WoW, I love the architecture of both the Night Elves and the Blood Elves. I find their lore fascinating and used to spend hours wandering the broken halls of Eldre’Thalas. In Dragon Age my first character was an Elven Mage who dared to fall in love with a King and in Dragon Age 2, I bemoaned the fact that the story line only allowed you to play Humans. In compensation, I loved questing along side Merrill.

Looking back, I think that my childhood full of fairystories and folklore probably steered me in this direction. I grew up listening to tales of changelings left in rocking cradles and my Great Grandmother used to read the Erl King in such a way which put the fear of all things dark and unknown into us as children.

Dem Vater grauset’s, er reitet geschwind,
Er hält in Armen das ächzende Kind,
Erreicht den Hof mit Müh’ und Not;
In seinen Armen das Kind war tot.

Goethe’s Erl King

7 Responses

  1. I’m glad to hear that you found some inspiration in my post!

    I went through a massive Blood Elf phase, where pretty much every toon that could be an elf was one. Not for the awesome reasons you have listed, though. I just thought they looked cool :P

    Great post :)

    • Thanks and thank you for suggesting the idea. I was aware of the fact that I had a lot of Elves but hadn’t given the matter much thought before :)

  2. Elves are my favorite playable race too. If I can be an elf in a video game, I probably will be. And Darnassus and Silvermoon are definitely my favorites of all the cities in WoW as well. Blood Elves are my very favorite because they can be my favorite class as well. (wtb nelf paladins of Elune)
    Elf lovers unite!

    • I’d race change my Paladin into a Nightelf in a heartbeat. Blizzard really need to embrace the elf love!

  3. They are my favorite too, I’ve noticed that whenever I play a new game Elves are usually the one race that goes the farthest before I quit and return to WoW. And then my first ever character was the classic Night Elf Hunter, who I still love. They are magic.

    • I think there is definitely something bewitching about them and their purple start zone. Darnassus is really calming too, almost a world apart from Stormwind and the claustrophobia of Ironforge.

  4. […] Yes. In other news, I’d like to give a shout out to Rinike and Harpy’s Nest, who felt so inspired by last weekend’s open thread that they actually did posts of their […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,309 other followers

