Nothing Gold can Stay: April’s ROYGBiV entry

Nature’s first green is gold,
Her hardest hue to hold.
Her early leaf’s a flower;
But only so an hour.
Then leaf subsides to leaf,
So Eden sank to grief,
So dawn goes down to day
Nothing gold can stay.

Robert Frost

I’m not a massive fan of yellow in any shade so I struggled slightly this month. Should I go for delicate virtuous lemon or brassy golden plate, what about shimmering leaf shaped Aureolin leather or soft vanilla. I bounced back and forth, unable to make a decision until I hit upon this, that slightly unusual pairing of mustard skirt and top the same shade as a field of sun ripe maize held together with a river of violets. The off-hand had to be the Lei of the Lifegiver, not only do the colours match perfectly but I always think of tulips and daffodils when I think of yellow, those bright flowers which herald spring and a posy ties the whole thing together perfectly.

WoWScrnShot_042314_200943 WoWScrnShot_042314_200948 WoWScrnShot_042314_200955 WoWScrnShot_042314_201000

  • Helm: Soulcatcher Halo
  • Chest: Greater Adept’s Robe
  • Shoulders: Mystical Mantle
  • Cloak: Darkmist Cape
  • Gloves: Soulcloth Gloves
  • Soulguard Girdle
  • Replicia Magisters Boots
  • Arachid Dagger
  • Lei of the Lifegiver

 

10 Responses

  1. I’m not a fan of yellow (or orange for that matter) but you’ve created a lovely set indeed. Love the colours of the off-hand here.

  2. I’ve never really liked that robe. Well, until you paired it with all the pieces that really go well with it. Lovely set!

    • Ty. I had some doubtful moments half way through but am glad I stuck with it because I really like the end result.

  3. That was the dress i was really wanting to use, but i just couldn’t make it work! You have done a brilliant job !! I love it!

    • Thanks. I’m actually tempted to farm the bits I’m missing on Priest (got the robe and lei) to wear it for a bit.

  4. That is a really lovely set! It makes me think of a yellow crocus peeping up through the snow in early spring. :)

  5. I’m not a fan of yellow either, but your set is pretty impressive despite that. I like how you managed to find purple-y pieces to offset the ghastliness of the yellow– I think that’s the only thing making it stylish ;P

    • It’s definitely a tradeoff but I’m pretty happy with how it came out. Think I might wear it temporarily, however I suspect the yellowness would annoy me fairly quickly.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,319 other followers

