A panicky realisation

A couple of recent blue posts have thrown my sense of timing completely, leaving me slightly panicked. I thought that we would have until Cataclysm ships to farm any and all of the bits and pieces from the current world but it seems as if I was wrong.

Then there was the bombshell that Zul’Gurub is vanishing as a raid instance. Now I realise that Valnoth didn’t mention the rare drops,

Zul’Gurub is gone as a raid instance come Cataclysm.

and that doesn’t mean that it’s not going to be a 5 man or be reused in some sort of fashion. However as someone who has been farming those two mounts since the instance was introduced and never ever seen them drop, I’m now officially frightened. Luckily I managed to grab my Polymorph: Turtle off the auction house for 81g a few days before they announced that Zul’Gurub was disappearing. The price has now sky-rocketed.

So in the next month or so, I want to try and complete ZG every reset so I can have the best chance possible at getting at least the raptor mount and the little red dino hatchling.

A red sky in the morning...

Finish up my Hydraxian Waterlord Rep on my Priest. Three more Molten Core runs should do it.

Level my Shaman to 80, that way I’ve got all four healing classes sitting at the level cap ready for Cataclysm.

Get my Undead Priest to 80, or at least beyond Dragonblight so I can see the Wrathgate chain from the Horde perspective before they remove that.

In a sense I’m a little bit sad by all the things going missing with Cataclysm. I always thought an Expansion should build on what was already there, not remove things completely (class abilities etc apart).

I’d love it if they used the Caverns of Time a bit more, so that you could see the world as it currently is even in the midst of the Cataclysm. For example, I’d like to be able to journey into the past to visit the Azshara I see now, with it’s long beaches and ruined temples once the Goblins have wrecked havoc upon it, even if it was NPC free. I know that they are introducing lots of new, shiny and cool stuff, but on the odd day when nostalgia hits, it would still be good to see the old world again.

7 Responses

  1. Good Luck with the mounts!

  2. Wait, what!? They’re removing the Wrathgate? Or is that just a goal before it occurs at some point?

    I am glad that I have had the Turtle tome for my mage for a long time. It truly is my favorite and I love just poofing the lone squirrel by the dalaran well into my favorite turtle (the dark blueish one) 😀

  3. I have mixed feelings about it, but some more uses for CoT in general would be pretty neat. So many cool events they could put in there!

    It’s definitely going to be weird having things just “gone” once Cataclysm hits.

    • The only thing I’d love to see gone would be Lightwell but it doesn’t look as if it’s going anywhere.

    • Yep, it would be great if they had NPCs you could talk to, to port to old Kalimdor, or even visit Christmas time etc. and other festivals, obviously they could have all the mobs, but the mobs have zero loot/experience, but all the quests are intact so if you wanted to go slay old world Bag’thera in STV you could go do that to remind yourself or show someone what the game used to be like.

Leave a Reply

