Beauty in the Eye of the Beholder – Death Knight Week

So my latest Death Knight has finally escaped the start zone with only one embarrassing death to her name and to celebrate I thought I’d post about the one thing I do love about playing a Death Knight through the first few levels.

The Scenery.

The way it changes as you progress through the various quests had me oohing on the beta and even now, having leveled and then deleted far too many Death Knights, I can spend hours riding around taking screenshots instead of progressing the quest chains.

startzone2startzone01 startzone4startzone3

Although I have to admit I’m also passing fond of the fact that we have to first steal a horse and then enter a shadowy realm to defeat it’s ghostly rider to claim it for our own.

Perhaps I’m more in-tune with Death Knights than I care to admit.

8 Responses

  1. Maybe this time you’re going to bond with that Death Knight. I know I always want to but so far my only level 90 DK just mines, she runs from a fight. I know, pathetic. My fault entirely.

    • I’m trying, I’m really trying. I’ve picked out a companion pet for her (Scraps – my mini Gluth). I’ve decided she will ride either her own mount or my deathcharger. I’ve put together a few transmog ideas too but I just can’t shake the idea that I suck at playing a DK. We’ll see.

  2. With regards to the horse comment, I’m sorely disappointed Blizz, with all it’s “solo scenarios” and “phased instances”, hasn’t found a way to reinstate the paladin and warlock mount quests.

    I find they now have ways to make the game “real” again, by offering the chance to enter a solo instance and claim that fiery Fel Steed, or to go and dominate your minions, but they don’t take advantage of it. It would make those classes so much more interesting and fun!

    Also, don’t you wish there was a phased world with no mobs that you could just spend hours gallivanting through? You could make a raid group and invite your friends, have a picnic in the woods around Stormwind City, or take stock of the newly defeated Sunwell Plateau? NPCs could be in that phase, but no violent creatures, no quests, etc.

    Aaah… Utopia. πŸ˜‰

    • What if they used the Caverns of Time to let us do just that. We could even go back to pre Cataclysm times to explore. Imagine being able to visit Auberdine for a picnic or the old Loch Modan.

      I’d love to see the Warlock/Paladin and Druid flight form quests back. I loved doing them all, especially the Druid one.

  3. Lol, you’ve got me convinced… I should totally make yet another Death Knight to do the starting area over again!

  4. I may have to make another death knight to experience the scenery again. I remember loving the scenery. Never took any screenshots. Bad blogger! πŸ™‚ Thanks for the reminder, Erinys.

Leave a Reply

