The Great Blog Azeroth Thanksgiving Event 2011

This year, Amerence asked us to give thanks to those bloggers out there who inspire us and who have  helped us grow into the people we are now.

Image from the awesome Graphics Fairy (http://graphicsfairy.blogspot.com/)

I came so close to not taking part, partly because I’m shy and partly because I really wasn’t sure what to say or how to say it. Then as I sat curled up on the sofa, sewing Terrence the Terrible Turkey, I started to think about the people who have inspired and encouraged me. With each stitch another name sprang to mind and I realised just how much I have to give thanks for.

Terrence the Terrible Turkey - stitched with love

The first WoW blog I ever encountered was that of Saresa’s over at Destructive Reach. I started reading that and discovered her reader list, which in turn sent me cobwebbing out across the internet discovering all sorts of wonderful things. The more I read, the more I realised that I wanted to start writing again and it occurred to me that if I actually put my ramblings on-line, it might push me to keep going. Basically, this is all Saresa’s fault as she inspired me to start out in the first place. So my first THANKYOU of course goes out to Saresa, as much as it pains me to thank a warlock for anything.

When I first started blogging, I was too shy to broadcast my presence. I read plenty of WoW blogs but I rarely commented and when I did, I never left a link to my own blog. Eventually however, I plucked up the courage to start being more active in the community. My first port of call was of course Blog Azeroth and after deleting and rewriting my introduction a few times, I shut my eyes and hit post.

The sky didn’t fall, the world didn’t end (not surprisingly really but hey) and I started to get commentators and subscribers (which was rather surprising – yes I have the self-esteem of a gnat). So my second big THANKYOU of this thanksgiving goes to Saga and Kaozz, you two were two of my first and most prolific commentators. Both of you helped give me confidence to keep going and for that, I’m amazingly grateful.

Next up, I want to thank the people who inspire me everyday by being brave, awesome and having the courage to stand up and say this is who I am. Who never shy away from posting the bare truth of the matter, whether it’s brutally honest and/or controversial. So THANKYOU to Beruthiel and Oestrus, of course the fact that they post about my two favourite classes doesn’t hurt either. I also want to add Azeroth Apple in here, he doesn’t know it but a while ago, a post of his made me confront a few things about myself and my methods of coping and for that, I will be eternally in his debt. Sometimes you just need the words of a stranger to push yourself into opening up.

Terrence's Pattern

Then there are those people who never fail to cheer me up, Alas, Zelmaru and Elfi spring to mind, it must be a guild thing. When I’m fed up at work or just plain irritable, I love flicking through their old posts. I can’t forget to mention Cynwise either, I love reading about other people’s experiences in PvP and so few bloggers seem to focus on it. Although that might be because he fills the niche so well, we don’t need anyone else.

Mostly though, I want to say THANKYOU to everyone involved with Blog Azeroth community. Whilst I was writing this, I started to think about the meaning of the word “Community” and a few searches later, I discovered this:

The word “community” is derived from the Old French communité which is derived from the Latin communitas(cum, “with/together” + munus, “gift”), a broad term for fellowship or organized society.

Whether this is accurate or not, it’s the perfect way to sum up both this event and the principles behind Blog Azeroth. After all, what else are we doing, but coming together with gifts, whether it’s our views on the game that we all play, often written from the heart or something like this, where we give thanks to those that inspire and encourage us.

Happy Thanksgiving to all of you.

18 Responses

  1. Who is shy now? Not you! And I loved your entry too! gosh judges will seem to have hard time now! Anyway, Thank you for participating your work is inspirational and the Turkey craft is awesome! Great job! Just be strong, and be confident of yourself, I was once like you especially when I started blogging but I learned a lot from Miss Medicina and Bob Turkey, that two encourage me that I can do it! and I did. Shout out to both of them and I do miss them! Anyway, Good Luck to you hon!

    • Ty, the “be confident of yourself” is a work in progress but it’s certainly come a long way in the last few years.

  2. Aw, thank YOU for the lovely posts you continue to write. I’ve gotten slack on commenting on all of my favorite blogs lately but I still keep tabs! And Terrence is quite cute 🙂

  3. Lol, you’re right, we are very similar and it’s nice to see we were both encouraged by the kindness of other wow bloggers.

    When I started I steeled myself with the conviction that no one was reading it so it was okay to post. Imagine joy/horror when someone did.

    Happy Blog Azeroth Thanksgiving to you and and to Terrence!

    • Thankyou from me and Terrence who is currently guarding my keyboard.

      I used to tell myself that each time I commented on someone else’s blog an evil little shyness demon exploded in a loud bang. Not sure it helped but at least now, I post a lot more frequently.

  4. I just wanted to stop by and say how much I’ve enjoyed your blog (before AND after the break!)

  5. This is a lovely post. I never realised I was one of the first people to start commenting regularly. They shyness is something I can understand, I am painfully shy myself in RL. A little bit less so online, but still quite a bit. Sometimes I still struggle with leaving comments on other people’s blogs because I feel that what I have to say isn’t worthwhile/interesting enough. Then I have to remind myself that the other bloggers are most likely like me – and love every comment they get!

    I really enjoy your blog, and I still read every post (I need to work on getting back to being better at leaving comments though!)

    Happy Blog Azeroth Thanksgiving 🙂

    • I’m actually the reverse. I’m a lot less nervous/second guessing myself in RL than I am online which I know is totally perverse. Perhaps because I work in a Public Library so I have to deal with people a lot so I’ve kinda steeled myself just to get on with it. Still working on the on-line confidence thing though 😀

  6. Firstly, all the turkey pic and Terrence are awesome! That retro Thanksgiving thing is so cute!

    Geez Erinys I would never have thought of you as shy. Like TomeoftheAncient, I would never have thought you both were shy bloggers, like myself. Now you have a huge following and people read your stuff and listen to what you say… boggles the mind huh! Thanks for all the entertaining reading and all your lovely comments over the year 🙂

    • Ty.
      I try and hide the shyness by being as talkative as I can but for every comment I hit post on, I’ve probably chickened out on two or three. Something happened a few years ago which completely blew my self-esteem and getting it back is a slow process.

  7. Terrence looks absolutely awesome !

    And yeah .. blogging feels weird at first, but once you get some friends it can be quite fun, I agree.

  8. […] Erinys – The Great Blog Azeroth Thanksgiving Event 2011 […]

  9. Love Terrence! This was a lovely heart-felt post. Keep up the great work 🙂

  10. Oh, I am glad you did choose to take part! I love your thoughts on the meaning of “community”.

    Thanks for sharing Terrence the Turkey with us, too! 😀

  11. […] Erinys – I have followed your adventures for some time now. I remember your struggles through Ulduar. I remember when you came over to the dark side. I remember when, and why, you stopped playing WoW. And I remember how thrilled I was to see the Harpy’s triumphant return. I love your gorgeous screenshots, and the care and thought that you have always given each one. I love reading about your PvP adventures and shenanigans. I wish you and Mr. Harpy many more moments to capture and much fun to be had. Thank you for taking the time to share the beauty and war of Azeroth with all of us. […]

  12. […] 2011 Entry Chronicles of Mia – Thankful for Bloggers [A Blog Azeroth Thanksgiving] Erinys – The Great Blog Azeroth Thanksgiving Event 2011 Tome of the Ancient – Im Thankful for… Cymre – A Day to Give Thanks Morynne […]

Leave a comment