Who needs Bag space anyway?

The shared topic over at Blog Azeroth this week is

Shared Topic Idea: Mementos – What mementos have you kept and why?

This topic is asking: What items or mementos have you kept (in your toon’s pack or bank) and why? Whether it be keepsakes, quest rewards, special items, random drops, whatever! – why did you decide to hang on to it? What’s its significance to you?

Suggested by Feraltree.

I have to say it made my heart beat faster with excitement, I’m a hoarder by nature both in-game and out. Over the last five years I’ve picked up all sorts of junk which will have to be prised from my character’s cold dead hands.

Starting at the beginning, since that’s the logical place to begin, I have darkspear troll mojo and forsaken hearts from the good old days of Alterac Valley. When killing the opposing faction wasn’t enough, you had to butcher their corpses on the battlefield too. Anyone else find it odd that Undead rogues had a heart to hack out in the first place?

Then there is my tier 1 and my beautiful Benediction.

Whilst I’ve never been overly keen on the looks of Priest tier 1, I keep it because it’s a memento of my first foray into raiding. At the time I was so proud of each piece as I picked them up, replacing my devout and bits and pieces of mp5 gear from Dire Maul. Then there is the staff, I keep that because not only was I the second Alliance priest on my then server to get one, but as a memory of the awesome guildmates and fellow priests who stayed up half the night helping me to farm the Eye of Shadow from the demons in Winterspring.

The next weapon I fell for was corn on the cob, otherwise known as  the Staff of Rampant Growth.

Seen here with Don Rigoburto’s lost hat and the Robes of the Guardian Saint.  I keep the hat because one day, who knows I might meet Don Rigoburto himself and then I can return it in person. Although since his hat was in a giant worm, I suppose meeting him alive is unlikely. The robes I keep because they cost me a fortune in dkp and I love the colour of them. The first time I saw them was on a male nightelf so imagine my surprise when I put them on. I think they were the first item of clothing that I had noticed which looked completely different on a female to a male character.

My Staff of Balzaphon I keep because I love it’s dark swirl at the end and because it’s no longer obtainable in-game. It might look like something you would sweep chimneys with, but I’m sure it will come in handy for something, one day.

I’ve kept my Proxy of Nozdormu and the Agent of Nozdormu as a reminder of the grindfest which lead to the opening of the AQ gates.

I’m not sure why I keep my Haunted Memento. It lives in the bank because every time I venture into the world with it in my bags, I get paranoid whenever I catch sight of it out of the corner of my eye. In it’s shadow, I keep seeing rogues who don’t exist.

Whilst I do have a bit of a weapon thing going on, I’ve kept my Impossible Dream because I love the song of the same name.

This is my quest, to follow that star …
No matter how hopeless, no matter how far …
To fight for the right, without question or pause …
To be willing to march into Hell, for a Heavenly cause …

Besides the lyrics do suit WoW and playing a Nightelf Priest a bit.

Then I have clothes and lots of them. Bags full of festival dresses in multiple colours as well as accessories like the romantic picnic basket and the Archmage Vargoth’s Staff, oh and Elune Stones because throwing them away would surely upset the Goddess.

9 Responses

  1. I keep most of my tier pieces, then I keep seasonal items and the odd bits here and there.. other than that I have to admit I’ve had to get rid of a lot of things I’d rather have kept simply due to running out of bank space.

    It’s a shame really.. I wish there’d be some special storage for tabards and maybe even old tier sets so that we don’t have to get rid of them just to have enough bank/bag space.

    • I’d pay good money for a wardrobe. Somewhere that I could keep all my tabards, dresses, hats and seasonal stuff without impacting on my bag/bank space.

  2. This is awesome!

    I’m also working on a post for this shared topic. I’m so excited to see what kinds of things other packrats are holding on to! I constantly get teased for never having bag/bank space – but you know, it’s often the little things that really make me enjoy the game. And I’ll hold on to those little things!

    The only thing that I wish is that tabbards didn’t each take up an individual bank/bag slot.

    • I get teased too. My lack of bag space drives Mr Harpy nuts, he just doesn’t get why I need so much “junk”.

      It’s good to know we aren’t alone and that all over the world people are still holding on the Archmage Vargoth’s staff.

  3. Ohhh I kept my Benediction too on my priest! I mentioned it in my post too. It’s such a beautiful staff and I got mine a little late but I made my priest well near the beginning of vanilla, just wasn’t able to level fast enough to 60 (I already had a 60 shammy). But better late than never because it is such a beautiful item!

    • When I first got mine, I spent the morning running around admiring the sparkles floating off it. Then I realised it was basically a massive shiny “GANK ME” sign but even now I think it’s probably been the best looking priestly weapon Blizzard have produced.

  4. and one more with benediction, good to hear! the first item on my list too! =)
    as for tiers, I listed devout instead of tier1, I found that grind to be much worse (or maybe it was just my bad luck) than for any sets ever after.

    • I was really lucky on my devout set. I got the dress the first time I cleared UBRS. The skirt the first time I killed the Baron and I think the boots and the gloves really fast too. It’s all been downhill ever since though. I stupidly sold the dress at some point in vanilla and now I’m doing the upgrade quest chain, I’ve got every bit bar the robes but the General refuses to hand them over again.

Leave a comment