The Worst Warlock

To celebrate her second anniversary, Saga over at Spellbound is hosting a “worst dressed Warlock” competition.

So let’s turn it around. Let’s find the worst possible Warlock outfit available in the game. Something that would make other Warlocks shun you and not let you near them. Something that would make your demon take one look at you and return back to the Twisting Nether laughing all the way.

Naturally I couldn’t resist joining in.

I’ve always thought of Warlocks as the “Fords” of WoW, wearing any colour as long as it’s black. Spikes, bleeding hearts and skulls being optional extras, the more glitz you can pack on an outfit, the better you look and everyone knows Warlocks are all about style, sex and stealing souls.

So if that’s fashion 101 for a Warlock, what would a self respecting demon summoner never been seen in? Floral prints, fluffy sweaters with kittens on them, Mage gear?

Unfortunately WoW doesn’t offer us the “fluffy sweater with kittens on” option, so I had to settle for the fresh flowers and Mage gear. Everything in the first two outfits is suitable for transmogrification, unfortunately the final option is purely for hanging out in the city of your choice scaring impressionable Imps.

Outfit 1.

I call this “hug a Tree of Life today!”

She is barefoot on purpose, all the better for feeling the grass wriggle under her feet.

Outfit 2.

“The I really wanted to be a Mage but wandered into the wrong classroom whilst distracted by a fluffy bunny hopping by” look. By the time she realised her mistake, they’d already got her signature in blood and handed out an annoying imp. Once you’ve got the demons and the scythe, there’s no way out, not even dying!

Outfit 3.

Finally, I got a bit obsessed with fluffy jumpers, the sort that my Great Aunts would produce every Christmas which led to this brain wave. We might not have sweaters with kittens on, but we do have a suitably tasteless one to play with. This is Snowdrop, my baby lock  modelling the latest in Winter Veil carolling gear. Just the thing for the discerning Warlock to run a mile from (even more so when she starts to sing!).

So Happy Anniversary Saga, I hope I’ve conjured up three horrific ensembles, the likes of which could make your Voidwalker sacrifice himself and your Succubus turn her whip on you. I know that in order to convince my Warlocks to model them, I had to send their demons away and promise them that no one would ever see the pictures…. (whoops!).

Also no Warlocks or demons were seriously hurt in the making of these transmogrifications, other than an Imp who almost died of laughter when he sneaked back from the Twisting Nether to have a closer look.

23 Responses

  1. OMG! The horror! I’ve seen what can not be unseen! How will they ever recover. It will take some hefty therapist bills to get over that.

    • Dulcamara, the redheaded lady Dwarf modelling in the first two pictures is claiming damages. I intend bribing her with a suitably respectable warlock transmogrification, something in black with as many skulls as possible.

  2. […] about it. I’d rather write about other things at the moment, or both However, I read a very nice blog post on Harpy’s today, about Saga’s “worst dressed warlock” competition, where I think Harpy did a […]

  3. Oh that Tree Hugger is epicly perfect for such a contest.

    • I happen to have the shoulders and chest sitting in the bank. I was intended them for my Night Elf mage but the little imp on my shoulder is busy whispering “warlock warlock warlock” in my ear.

      We shall see.

  4. Oh this is great! Now I want to join in 🙂

  5. […] efforts every weekend. I have an idea how hard this was because over at the Harpy’s Nest Erinys has a post about Saga’s Worst Warlock Competition. I tried to while away the time waiting for the Mog […]

  6. I love these outfits.. in the sense that I’d happily toss such a Warlock from the council never to be seen again.

    Great contributions! I hope others will join in as well 🙂 We need more horrible Warlock outfits!

    Also, I think there’s something wrong with me because the horrible Christmas sweater made me think of Bridget Jones’ Diary…

    • That scene in Bridget Jones always makes me think of Family Christmases so I wouldn’t say there was something wrong, other than the sweater of course :p

      Glad you liked them.

  7. I wouldn’t go around telling the other locks you wanted to be a mage…I’m pretty sure that’s a dangerous thing to do. O.O

    The warlock druid outfit is awesome. Couldn’t be much less warlock than that if you tried! (And you clearly did!) 😛

  8. If only warlocks could also be witches, then the druid outfit can actually sorta start making sense.

    These are pretty bad, and by bad I mean good. 🙂

    • I can just see my lock running around in MoP with a feline familiar and a green pointy hat wearing that outfit. Now all I need to do is find a green pointy hat and she’s all set.

      I did intend making a clown type outfit, all clashing colours and fabrics but I just couldn’t bring myself to do it.

      • Green Pointy Hat = Watcher’s Cap, ta-da!

        The “wannabe fire mage” outfit is awesome — I love those shoulders and sword and flowers together — and the Winter Veil outfit is LOLicious (I might have to actually do that with one of my toons come next Winter Veil 😛 ) — but the “wannabe druid” outfit takes the cake. The Silksand pieces complement the Willow Robe and Greenweave Shoulders beautifully. Hmm, I already have a Willow Robe bound to my ‘Lock, perhaps I should go after those other items for her….

  9. Aww, they are all cute looking sets and I agree, that red hood is one of my favourite helms too (esp after my red riding hood outfit/post)

    • It always annoyed me when the Voidreaver was current content that we had a seemingly never ending succession of warlocks, mages and warlock and mage alts who wanted that hat. Not sure my Priest ever got one, I might have to revisit TK.

  10. @Kamalia I’m definitely dressing up all my gnomes in the carol singing outfit next year. It manages to be both tasteless and cute at the same time.

  11. […] that could top the Gardening Soccer Mom look that Tome of the Ancient coaxed Ironsally into, or the “Hug a Tree of Life today” wannabe-Druid outfit concocted by Erinys. But I couldn’t resist the challenge of at least […]

  12. […] outfits were sent in by Erinys over at Harpy’s Nest. She sent us three entries, but I list them as one since she only has one shot at winning. You can […]

Leave a comment